Ice Flyers Re-Sign Leading Goal Scorer Adam Pawlick

PENSACOLA, FL. (July 22, 2014) - The back-to-back SPHL champions, Pensacola Ice Flyers, are excited to announce the re-signing of Forward Adam Pawlick for the 2014-15 season.

"I'm really excited to be coming back to play for Pensacola," Pawlick stated. "It's such a great organization and community to be a part of."

Pawlick played four seasons at NCAA Division I Clarkson University prior to joining the Ice Flyers. He had an outstanding rookie season, playing in all 56 games and leading the team in goals. He scored 27 goals and added 14 assists for 41 points. Pawlick also finished tied for the SPHL lead in goals scored by a rookie and ninth in rookie scoring.

"Adam was a tremendous player for us last season," Ice Flyers Head Coach Rod Aldoff commented. "He came in with a tremendous attitude and only got better and better each day. Look for him to be a elite player in our league and a great leader for our team. It's a pleasure to have him back in an Ice Flyers' jersey."

Pawlick added a goal and three assists in seven games during the Ice Flyers' successful defense of the SPHL President's Cup.

"After winning the championship last year, all I want to do is come back to Pensacola, play in front of the best fans in the league and have the opportunity to win it all again," Pawlick added.

SPHL Announces Playoff Format for 2014-2015 Season

HUNTERSVILLE, NC – The Southern Professional Hockey League Board of Governors, in a conference call held yesterday, approved the playoff format for the 2014-2015 season:

2014-2015 PLAYOFF FORMATThe top six (6) finishers in the league standings will make the playoffs:

Series A - #1 Seed will play #6 Seed in a best-of-three series

Series B - #2 Seed will play #5 Seed in a best-of-three series

Series C - #3 Seed will play #4 Seed in a best-of-three series

The highest-seeded team remaining after the first round will receive an automatic bye to the President’s Cup Finals.

The other two first round winners will meet in a best-of-three series.

The two remaining teams will meet in the best-of-three President’s Cup Final.

Playoff tickets go on sale Wednesday, Mar. 19

PENSACOLA, FL. (March 18, 2014) - Playoff tickets for the Pensacola Ice Flyers' first home playoff game, scheduled for Thursday, Mar. 27 at 7:05 p.m., will go on sale through the Pensacola Bay Center Box Office and Ticketmaster on Wednesday, Mar. 19 at 10 a.m. Pricing will remain the same as the regular season. 

Come be a part of history as SPHL Commissioner Jim Combs will be on hand to present the William B. Coffey Trophy to the Ice Flyers in recognition of the team winning the 2013-14 regular season championship for the first time in the team's five-year history.

Pensacola's Ross MacKinnon Named Easton Player of the Week

HUNTERSVILLE, NC. (March 18, 2014) - The Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) today announced goaltender Ross MacKinnon of the Pensacola Ice Flyers is the Easton Player of the Week for March 10-16.

MacKinnon went 3-0-0, posting one shutout, a 0.65 goals against average and .975 save percentage as the Ice Flyers extended their consecutive-game point streak to 20 and captured the SPHL regular season championship.

On Thursday, the Manchester, CT native recorded his third shutout of the season, stopping 25 shots in a 5-0 blanking of Columbus.  MacKinnon came back on Friday with 18 saves in a 2-1 shootout win over Peoria and then closed out the weekend on Saturday by stopping 35 of 36 Rivermen shots in another 2-1 win over Peoria.

MacKinnon, who hasn't lost a game in regulation since December 8, ranks second in the SPHL with 21 wins (21-1-3 overall), a 2.06 goals against average and .927 save percentage.  MacKinnon earned President's Cup Most Valuable Player honors last season, going 6-1 with a 1.24 goals against average and .956 save percentage as he led the Ice Flyers to their first-ever SPHL championship.  Also named to the 2012-13 SPHL All-Rookie Team, he led all first-year netminders with a 2.06 goals against average and .935 save percentage, was second with two shutouts and fourth with 14 wins, despite playing only 19 games before going up to the ECHL on January 9.

Also Nominated: Travis Granbois, Bloomington (3 gp, 2a, +2), Jordan Draper, Columbus (4 gp, 5g, 3a, four-goal game), Corey Toy, Fayetteville (4 gp, 2g, 2a, 1 gwg), Ray Ortiz, Huntsville (3 gp, 2g), Mark Van Vliet, Knoxville (3 gp, 1g, 4a), Shawn McNeil, Louisiana (3 gp, 1g, 4a), Matthew Krahn, Mississippi RiverKings (2-0-0, 1.50 gaa, .930 save%), Mathieu Dugas, Mississippi Surge (1-2-0, 2.37 gaa, .926 save%) and Kyle Rank, Peoria (1-0-1, 1.92 gaa, .947 save%)

Game Recap: Ice Flyers win 2-1, set records, win Coffey Trophy

PENSACOLA, FL. (March 15, 2014) - The Pensacola Ice Flyers hosted the Peoria Rivermen for the second half of a back-to-back and came out with another 2-1 win. The win locked up the William B. Coffey Trophy, awarded to SPHL's regular season champion, for the Ice Flyers. The team also set two more SPHL records with season average attendance record of 4,091 per game and total season attendance with 114,537.

The first period was scoreless with back and forth physical play and great chances for both teams. Pensacola held a 13-10 shot advantage after the first 20 minutes.

Ryan Salvis broke the scoreless tie just over four minutes into the middle period when he put home a rebound from the left wing circle. Steve Whitely and Jeremy Gates picked up the assists on Salvis' eleventh goal of the season. That was the only goal in a period that saw a total of 32 shots with Pensacola holding a 17-15 edge.

Peoria's Ben Oskroba took exception to a hit by Mitchell Good and the two dropped the gloves 2:57 into the third period. Peoria tied the game less than two minutes later when Chris Greene beat Pensacola's Ross MacKinnon. It took a little over seven minutes for the Ice Flyers to regain the lead at the 11:52 mark of the period. Adam Pawlick scored with Salvis picking up the lone assist.

MacKinnon stopped 35 of Peoria's 36 shots to push his record to 21-1-3.

Game Stars
1st Star: A.Pawlick (PEN) - 1G, GWG
2nd Star: R.Salvis (PEN) - 1G, 1A
3rd Star: R.MacKinnon (PEN) - 35 Saves, W